I was reading other people's blogs and all of a sudden I felt like banging my head on the table...but decided not to because I was afraid to break my mp3 in the process.
Very surprised that Taken got only 57% in RT (Rotten Tomatoes) because it was actually a pretty good movie. I'm going to check out the review for The Blues Brothers...also have to tell my mom that Mdm Wong may not be our teacher next year, as I found out from Sam's blog.
Oh, cool, The Blues Brothers got 84%...fresh.
I don't have anything interesting to type today so I''ll just leave the post at this.
Wednesday, December 30, 2009
Oh, What The Hell
Posted by N.I.V.A.N.I at 12/30/2009 04:02:00 PM 0 comments
Sunday, December 27, 2009
To Be Jolly
Two days ago, we went out for Christmas. What did we do on Christmas? Loads of stuff. It was fun. Here's what happened:
- Lunch
I had lasagna for lunch. I don't know how Americans actually like that. It's practically just mashed chicken. Mashed chicken! Mashed! Mashed! But I had this caramel pudding thing which totally made up for it.
- We watched a movie.
Well, this part was actually pretty good. We went to this cinema (I think it was Lido, I can't remember) and the queue was freaking long. The queue for people paying by card had only about five people, and for cash, there was like...fifty. But my dad told my brother and me to sit in McDonald's and wait while he got the tickets. Nice man. Then we got in just in time for the trailers to start. I saw the trailer for The Fourth Kind, which sounded really freaky so I didn't watch it, then I saw the trailer for Percy Jackson and The Olympians : The Lightning Thief, it's a long title, a lot of people just refer to it as The Lightning Thief. Logan Learman (I can't remember how to spell his last name. He's the guy who acts as Percy Jackson) is really hot, he looks like a younger version of Zac Efron. Really. We were watching the trailer and my Dad leant to me and asked, "Is this Zac?" I actually felt kinda happy that my dad actually knew Zac Efron's name - he didn't have to know his full name, Zac was just fine. And I answered him, "No, but looks a lot like him." Anyway, then we saw the trailer for How To Train You Dragon and it sounded interesting. Then finally the movie started. We actually watched Avatar, the movie about the blue aliens and all. Sam Worthington (the guy who acts as Jake Sully, the main guy) looked nice - but only when he was shaved. :/ But on other terms, Avatar was a really good movie. And I mean, REALLY GOOD movie.
- Dinner
It was okay, except for the fact that I realised I got my period, so I was really uncomfortable and couldn't wait to get home. And my brother kept saying I didn't understand Avatar. But I DID! I actually understood Avatar! It's about this guy, Jake, whose scientist brother Sam died, so Jake has to take his place. They're going to Pandora to get a priceless rock, so Jake transforms into a Na'vi avatar to gain the community's trust so they'll allow him to get back the rocks. (Jake's paralysed, he's an ex Marine - an army guy) The army has teamed up with the scientists, and they couldn't wait for this whole trust gaining thing so they just attack the planet to try and get that damned rock. But Jake feels connected to the Na'vi more than to the humans, so he helps them recover their land. There's also this intertwined romance with Jake and Neytiri, the princess in the Na'vi. The guy called Parker (he's an antagonist in the movie) is portrayed by Giovanni Ribisi, which is really cool because he's acted in Friends before as Phoebe's half brother. COOL.
And finally, the one you haven't been waiting for because you didn't know I'd talk about it...
- The Miracle
We were in Orchard. We were about to cross the road, waiting for the traffic light to turn green. It had just stopped raining, but there was still lightning and thunder. My mom and sister were standing slightly further away from my brother, dad and me. All of a sudden, there was loud thunder. It was loud - really loud. Could've been heard in Penang. And later on, my brother told me that right before the thunder had sounded, he had seen this flash of light barely a centimetre away from him.
Meaning that my father, brother and me had been this close to being struck by lightning.
Talk about a Christmas Miracle.
Posted by N.I.V.A.N.I at 12/27/2009 04:41:00 PM 0 comments
Friday, December 25, 2009
Surviving Christmas
So today's Christmas, so Merry Christmas Everyone!!! There.
Anyway, last night they showed a movie called Surviving Christmas, starring Ben Affleck. I never thought Ben Affleck was hot till I watched this movie. Ha ha. Ha ha. So anyway. The movie is about this guy (I can't remember the character's name so I'll call him Ben), Ben, a millionaire who has a flair to showing his love in a big way. So Ben's girlfriend, who has never met his family, breaks up with him because he wants to go to Fiji but she wants to meet his family. So he meets a therapist and the therapist tells him to write his grievances on a piece of paper, go to his childhood home and burn the paper of grievances there. When Ben goes to his childhood home, he marvels at the sight. Another family now inhabits the home. The father, (let's call him John), thinks that he's burning down the house and hits Ben with a shovel.
When Ben awakes, he pays the family $250 000 to let him stay with them and act as his family. They agree only because of the money. So Ben has a brother, Ryan, a mother, and a father. Near Christmas, his "sister" comes home - that's Christina Applegate (She was Rachel's sister Amy in Friends) - and Ben freaks out, because he's afraid everything will be screwed up. But it works, and Alicia (that's her name) goes tobogganing with Ryan and Ben, and Ben brings them to this high cliff to toboggan down, and Alicia, after being called chicken, goes down the cliff with Ben. When they're down, the two of them are about to kiss when Alicia sneezes.
Alicia (I don't know if it's Felicia or Alicia, but I think I heard Alicia) tells Ben about her favorite memory when she saw an oak tree covered with icicles. Ben remakes that tree and shows it to her. She likes it but when other people start coming and putting on a small nativity play at the side and all, making it noisy and crowded...Alicia gets mad at Ben for his big gift giving.
And to cut a long story short, Ben messes up his "Family's" life but at the end Ben and Alicia are together.
There were more parts to the story, like subplots and all (like the parents splitting and stuff like that) but I didn't write that.
Overall I'd rate this movie a 3.5/5...but it didn't get good ratings. 7% pm Rotten Tomatoes and 4.9 out of 10 on IMDb.
It was actually an alright movie. The jokes were kinda funny. Like when Ben's walking up the stairs and he reaches a famed squeaky stair, he says, "Oh my god! I remember this! It's a squeaky stair! You know what we used to call this? The Squeaky Stair!" Then the next day he's walking down the stairs and he feels like riding down the banister and he breaks the banister.
Well that's it. I'm tired :) Merry Christmas and go stuff your faces with pudding and stuff!!!
Posted by N.I.V.A.N.I at 12/25/2009 01:21:00 PM 0 comments
Thursday, December 24, 2009
Snow and Song and Stuff
I don't know what I'm gonna be doing tomorrow - which is Christmas. I'll probably just be stuck at home doing nothing, or if my mom decides to bring me to our cousin's house for Christmas, then I'll be at her house for Christmas. Their house is really nice and what amuses me is that all the lights are blue. So it's never really bright in their house.
My brother was a page boy in my aunt's wedding, and while walking down the aisle, he stopped next to my mom and drank juice. I still can't seem to forgive him for that. But, hey, at least they got married. I'd like to see my cousin again...she's 2 years younger than me and whenever she and I are together, everyone mistakes me as a taller version of her (or her as a shorter version of me; normally the latter). It took us a while to convince my granddad that we weren't twins.
I wish it snowed here in Singapore...but the only way that could happen was if global warming went crazy and I wouldn't like that to happen. Did you know that if the world temperature rose by 5"C (degrees Celsius, I don't know where the small circle is) Singapore would drown...and drown...and drown...and so would we. I would hate that.
I finally played the piano after like...forever. I'm gonna play it again soon once my mom wakes up. It's great when she's asleep. (I'm hearing music from another house, the song sounds familiar. Christmas carols. Cool!!!) I started playing this tune and then I struggled to remember the music notes, then I wrote down a tune (Treble and Base) and I was thinking about writing a song with that. I haven't written the lyrics yet, but I know it's gonna be a sad song about when you fail in what you want to do, kinda like The Climb, and I'm calling it Fallen Angel's Ballad. I got into an argument with myself on whether to call it The Fallen Angel's Ballad or Fallen Angel's Ballad (without the "The"). I chose the one without "the" because the one with "the" sounded like it was about just one fallen angel, but actually it's about all of them. I don't actually know what fallen angel means, but fallen angel just sounds nice, like in Chris Brown's song. But who cares about that? He's got Crawl now.
They'll be showing American Idol 9 (the one with Ellen) on Channel 5 and the thing that sucks is that it's at 10:30pm. Which is really late, because it's about an hour, and in P6 if I sleep at 11:30pm, I'll be dead by 11:31, so yeah. Thank god for Cougartown at 10 on Mondays.
And the final news. I got a new MP3!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I know you're (whoever you are) thinking "just an mp3? I have a phone, sucker!" but I'm not allowed a phone till the end of next year so an mp3 is great. I end up listening to radio more than I do to my songs...oh well.
I think I'll post a movie review right after this. For some unknown movie. Or known.
Posted by N.I.V.A.N.I at 12/24/2009 03:53:00 PM 0 comments
The Golden Globes 2/2
Oh, and apparently, you can click on the movie title and the ratings and plots and all for the movie will come up. Turns out the movie titles are links to IMDb. (the Internet Movie Database). Here's the rest of the nominations.
Best Foreign Language Film
Best Television Series - Drama
Best Television Series - Musical or Comedy
Best Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for Television
Nominees:
Georgia O'Keeffe (2009) (TV)
Grey Gardens (2009) (TV)
Into the Storm (2009) (TV)
"Little Dorrit" (2008)
Taking Chance (2009) (TV)
Best Performance by an Actor in a Mini-Series or a Motion Picture Made for Television
Nominees:
Kevin Bacon for Taking Chance (2009) (TV)
Kenneth Branagh for "Wallander" (2008)
Chiwetel Ejiofor for Endgame (2009)
Brendan Gleeson for Into the Storm (2009) (TV)
Jeremy Irons for Georgia O'Keeffe (2009) (TV)
Best Performance by an Actress in a Mini-Series or a Motion Picture Made for Television
Nominees:
Joan Allen for Georgia O'Keeffe (2009) (TV)
Drew Barrymore for Grey Gardens (2009) (TV)
Jessica Lange for Grey Gardens (2009) (TV)
Anna Paquin for The Courageous Heart of Irena Sendler (2009) (TV)
Sigourney Weaver for Prayers for Bobby (2009) (TV)
Best Performance by an Actor in a Television Series - Musical or Comedy
Nominees:
Alec Baldwin for "30 Rock" (2006)
Steve Carell for "The Office" (2005)
David Duchovny for "Californication" (2007)
Thomas Jane for "Hung" (2009)
Matthew Morrison for "Glee" (2009)
Best Performance by an Actress in a Television Series - Musical or Comedy
Nominees:
Toni Collette for "United States of Tara" (2009)
Courteney Cox for "Cougar Town" (2009)
Edie Falco for "Nurse Jackie" (2009)
Lea Michele for "Glee" (2009)
Best Performance by an Actor in a Television Series - Drama
Nominees:
Simon Baker for "The Mentalist" (2008)
Michael C. Hall for "Dexter" (2006)
Hugh Laurie for "House M.D." (2004)
Bill Paxton for "Big Love" (2006)
Best Performance by an Actress in a Television Series - Drama
Nominees:
Glenn Close for "Damages" (2007)
January Jones for "Mad Men" (2007)
Julianna Margulies for "The Good Wife" (2009)
Anna Paquin for "True Blood" (2008)
Kyra Sedgwick for "The Closer" (2005)
Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role in a Series, Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for Television
Nominees:
Michael Emerson for "Lost" (2004)
Neil Patrick Harris for "How I Met Your Mother" (2005)
William Hurt for "Damages" (2007)
John Lithgow for "Dexter" (2006)
Jeremy Piven for "Entourage" (2004)
Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Series, Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for Television
Nominees:
Jane Adams for "Hung" (2009)
Rose Byrne for "Damages" (2007)
Jane Lynch for "Glee" (2009)
Janet McTeer for Into the Storm (2009) (TV)
Chloë Sevigny for "Big Love" (2006)
Posted by N.I.V.A.N.I at 12/24/2009 03:30:00 PM 0 comments
The Golden Globes 1/2
I tried uploading it the last time, but it got jammed. I'm scared the post'll be too long, so I'm dividing it into half. It might look weird but that's because I just copied and pasted it straight here from IMDb. No copyright infringement intended. (Whatever that means.)
Best Motion Picture - Drama
Best Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy
Nominees:
(500) Days of Summer (2009)
The Hangover (2009)
It's Complicated (2009)
Julie & Julia (2009)
Nine (2009)
Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Drama
Nominees:
Jeff Bridges for Crazy Heart (2009)
George Clooney for Up in the Air (2009/I)
Colin Firth for A Single Man (2009)
Morgan Freeman for Invictus (2009)
Tobey Maguire for Brothers (2009/I)
Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Drama
Nominees:
Emily Blunt for The Young Victoria (2009)
Sandra Bullock for The Blind Side (2009)
Helen Mirren for The Last Station (2009)
Carey Mulligan for An Education (2009)
Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy
Nominees:
Matt Damon for The Informant! (2009)
Daniel Day-Lewis for Nine (2009)
Robert Downey Jr. for Sherlock Holmes (2009)
Joseph Gordon-Levitt for (500) Days of Summer (2009)
Michael Stuhlbarg for A Serious Man (2009)
Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy
Nominees:
Sandra Bullock for The Proposal (2009/I)
Marion Cotillard for Nine (2009)
Julia Roberts for Duplicity (2009)
Meryl Streep for It's Complicated (2009)
Meryl Streep for Julie & Julia (2009)
Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture
Nominees:
Matt Damon for Invictus (2009)
Woody Harrelson for The Messenger (2009/I)
Christopher Plummer for The Last Station (2009)
Stanley Tucci for The Lovely Bones (2009)
Christoph Waltz for Inglourious Basterds (2009)
Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture
Nominees:
Penélope Cruz for Nine (2009)
Vera Farmiga for Up in the Air (2009/I)
Anna Kendrick for Up in the Air (2009/I)
Julianne Moore for A Single Man (2009)
Best Director - Motion Picture
Nominees:
Kathryn Bigelow for The Hurt Locker (2008)
James Cameron for Avatar (2009)
Clint Eastwood for Invictus (2009)
Jason Reitman for Up in the Air (2009/I)
Quentin Tarantino for Inglourious Basterds (2009)
Best Screenplay - Motion Picture
Nominees:
District 9 (2009): Neill Blomkamp, Terri Tatchell
The Hurt Locker (2008): Mark Boal
It's Complicated (2009): Nancy Meyers
Up in the Air (2009/I): Jason Reitman, Sheldon Turner
Best Original Song - Motion Picture
Nominees:
Avatar (2009): James Horner, Simon Franglen, Kuk Harrell("I Will See You")
Crazy Heart (2009): T-Bone Burnett, Ryan Bingham("The Weary Kind")
Everybody's Fine (2009): Paul McCartney("(I Want To) Come Home")
Nine (2009): Maury Yeston("Cinema Italiano")
Best Original Score - Motion Picture
Nominees:
Avatar (2009): James Horner
The Informant! (2009): Marvin Hamlisch
A Single Man (2009): Abel Korzeniowski
Up (2009): Michael Giacchino
Best Animated Film
Posted by N.I.V.A.N.I at 12/24/2009 03:27:00 PM 0 comments
Thursday, December 17, 2009
Cougar Town!
Yeah, I know...I haven't posted a blog post in like...forever. I have a short memory and school is about to start soon, alright? And what's the use of posting if NO ONE IS READING MY BLOG?
There, I think I've made my point.
Anyway.
They're gonna start showing Cougar Town on Channel 5! That's right, Cougar Town! Actually, the only reason I'm watching it is because it stars Courteney Cox who was Monica on Friends. But still, pretty interesting show it is. It's about a divorced lady in her forties with a seventeen year old son and the lady (Jules Cobb, otherwise Courteney) prowls in the younger generation (otherwise known as the 20-something guys). Cougar is the term they give to forty year old women dating younger men. And from what I heard, Puma is what they call 30 year old women dating younger men. Because Jennifer Aniston will be acting in a movie called Pumas.
I'm posting another post for the Golden Globe nominations because this post will be too long if I put it here.
Posted by N.I.V.A.N.I at 12/17/2009 04:59:00 PM 0 comments
Thursday, December 10, 2009
What Makes Me Mad
My mom's been getting me to help her with her phonics. She's supposed to be doing it, so why is she asking me? It makes me mad.
My only peace is on the computer.
____
Cool, I'm going out. My sister's out, my brother's in Cambodia, my mom's gotta go to work so it's just daddy and me. I wonder where we're going.
Update soon.
Posted by N.I.V.A.N.I at 12/10/2009 05:28:00 PM 0 comments
Sunday, December 6, 2009
F.R.I.E.N.D.S
I know, I know, I missed yesterday's post. Sue me.
I was on Friends Cafe reading the reviews to my story and reading other people's story. I'm reading Fragile now, it's about David Schwimmer and Jennifer Aniston. Everyone wants them to become Ross and Rachel in real life, and that is still a possibility. Cause they're both single.
I just read the prologue only but that's enough to keep me going the whole way. I'm on my first chapter now. So I can't continue this post, my mom'll be back soon.
Bye bye birdy.
Posted by N.I.V.A.N.I at 12/06/2009 04:57:00 PM 0 comments
Friday, December 4, 2009
Subway, Eat Fresh
I woke up at 12.30 today, I think.
My mom was using the computer and checking up phonics stuff so I mixed myself a drink. 10 minutes later I started coughing and only then did my mom notice I was there.
I came up and used the laptop (like now, in the privacy of my room) and replied to an email. Then I replied to a review of my story on FriendsCafe, this huge Friends fan site. I typed out a new story about "if Courteney had loved Matthew". So now I just replied to my first review. I love Friends...
Halfway through my grandparents dropped by for a surprise visit so I had to entertain them downstairs. They left only at 7 and I had to follow my dad and brother to Northpoint (the nearest mall) and we changed some money to US Currency because in Cambodia that's what they expect. We got some Lincolns, some Washingtons, some Hamiltons, the works.
Then I caught sight of some of the teachers in my school so we escaped to the basement and ate at Subway. I had the tuna for 6 inch or something like that.
(My brother bought a meatball sub (like Joey's favorite) and my dad bought Chicken Teriyaki)
Then I told them I wanted a phone so we went to check some out at Harvey Norman and we found out that an I-Phone costs about $200 less than this other Sony phone we saw.
On our way we saw this guy who was talking to thin air, at first we thought he was ordering something from 5 feet away, but he was talking to just that. Thin air. We walked away from him.
Then, blah blah blah, we got to the car park and got in the car. I smelled patrol in the car and started sniffing. Am I gonna be high...
Then we came home and it leads right up to me typing this post.
This is what happens in a life of Nivani. :)
I should listen to some songs...or maybe watch Allen and Craig. Yeah watch Allen and Craig then I'll go down at 10.30 to watch The Amazing Race.
Posted by N.I.V.A.N.I at 12/04/2009 09:53:00 PM 0 comments
Thursday, December 3, 2009
Weekdays @ 7
I was watching Friends. It wasn't TOW The Ballroom Dancing, it was TOW The Dirty Girl, a better episode.
I had to go through an entire episode of Psych so that I would be on time for Friends. I used to watch Psych whenever I could, and then I stopped, and I forgot how funny it was.
I caught a few commercials too. There was one for this new show called Life, about some detective thingy. There was something funny:
Police: I'm gonna count to 3 and then I'm gonna shoot you. 1, 2, (Shoots the guy)
The guy: You didn't get to 3!
Police: I rounded up.
It isn't supposed to be funny because I guy just got shot but it is.
And then there was one for Castle:
Policewoman: It says here you stole a police horse...
Author: Borrowed.
Police: And apparently, you were nude at that point of time?
Author: It was spring.
Ha ha.
Then I watched Everybody Loves Raymond, that was at 7:30, after Friends. Normally I don't like any TV show that takes over Friends' time slot, but this was okay.
I ate McDonalds today, had that teppenyaki burger thingy. It was nice. I'm gonna try and have one more tomorrow.
And I don't have a brother for about 5 and a half days when he goes to Cambodia. So if my mom sleeps in the other room with my dad, I have the room all to myself.
And my thoughts.
I'm never gonna sleep.
Posted by N.I.V.A.N.I at 12/03/2009 08:00:00 PM 0 comments
So No One Told You Life Was Gonna Be This Way
I wish I could stop listening to the Friends theme song, but I can't, and I don't care...What a great song :P
I'll be there for you,
When the rain starts to pour,
I'll be there for you,
Like I've been there before,
I'll be there for you,
Cuz' you're there for me too.......
Oh, the song stopped. My life is over.
Posted by N.I.V.A.N.I at 12/03/2009 01:49:00 PM 0 comments
Mac 'n' Cheese
Thanks to the holidays they're showing some cable channels on the Preview Channel, so today they're showing Star World...So at 7 o'clock I'm gonna be watching Friends.
They're showing The One With The Ballroom Dancing, it's not really a nice episode...I missed The One With The Cuffs. The cuffs, and the shirt, and the Walkman...
They're showing Are You Smarter Than A 5th Grader now...some female army sergeant who says her worst subject was English. I wonder how she's doing.
It was either that or Barney the Dinosaur and Barney freaks me out. Big purple blob with a small green blob in the middle. But thanks to him/it, I found out what mac and cheese was. And then I ate it in Swensens, there were too much mushrooms and it tasted like crap.
My mom isn't at home because she's off learning phonics. Phonics doesn't even help. And she's forcing me to help her with her homework. Talk about integrity. AND she blames me if there isn't enough time to finish it.
My brother's asking my dad to fix his PSP, and my dad obliged. My sister's asking my dad for Muse tickets (who would pick Muse over Green Day?) and my dad obliged.
Now my dad wants to know what I want, because normally I ask for the stuff, and I haven't asked for anything.
It's about time I needed a phone.
Posted by N.I.V.A.N.I at 12/03/2009 01:33:00 PM 0 comments
Tuesday, December 1, 2009
Finally...
I had to use this lay out because there weren't many...This is the best they got. Since it's the holidays I guess I can blog more...I'm not gonna add a chatbox because it's a lot of trouble. I guess I'll mainly talk about Friends.
If you're planning to commit suicide because there isn't a chat box, here's my email:
pinkygal24@hotmail.com
I don't even like pink anymore. -I like purple-. Ha ha I made this account when I was 7 and I loved pink then. Very vulnerable then... That's all I have, I don't want to plan my funeral when my mom comes home and finds out that I've been using the com for 4 hours....ciao.
Posted by N.I.V.A.N.I at 12/01/2009 06:48:00 PM 0 comments
