So today's Christmas, so Merry Christmas Everyone!!! There.
Anyway, last night they showed a movie called Surviving Christmas, starring Ben Affleck. I never thought Ben Affleck was hot till I watched this movie. Ha ha. Ha ha. So anyway. The movie is about this guy (I can't remember the character's name so I'll call him Ben), Ben, a millionaire who has a flair to showing his love in a big way. So Ben's girlfriend, who has never met his family, breaks up with him because he wants to go to Fiji but she wants to meet his family. So he meets a therapist and the therapist tells him to write his grievances on a piece of paper, go to his childhood home and burn the paper of grievances there. When Ben goes to his childhood home, he marvels at the sight. Another family now inhabits the home. The father, (let's call him John), thinks that he's burning down the house and hits Ben with a shovel.
When Ben awakes, he pays the family $250 000 to let him stay with them and act as his family. They agree only because of the money. So Ben has a brother, Ryan, a mother, and a father. Near Christmas, his "sister" comes home - that's Christina Applegate (She was Rachel's sister Amy in Friends) - and Ben freaks out, because he's afraid everything will be screwed up. But it works, and Alicia (that's her name) goes tobogganing with Ryan and Ben, and Ben brings them to this high cliff to toboggan down, and Alicia, after being called chicken, goes down the cliff with Ben. When they're down, the two of them are about to kiss when Alicia sneezes.
Alicia (I don't know if it's Felicia or Alicia, but I think I heard Alicia) tells Ben about her favorite memory when she saw an oak tree covered with icicles. Ben remakes that tree and shows it to her. She likes it but when other people start coming and putting on a small nativity play at the side and all, making it noisy and crowded...Alicia gets mad at Ben for his big gift giving.
And to cut a long story short, Ben messes up his "Family's" life but at the end Ben and Alicia are together.
There were more parts to the story, like subplots and all (like the parents splitting and stuff like that) but I didn't write that.
Overall I'd rate this movie a 3.5/5...but it didn't get good ratings. 7% pm Rotten Tomatoes and 4.9 out of 10 on IMDb.
It was actually an alright movie. The jokes were kinda funny. Like when Ben's walking up the stairs and he reaches a famed squeaky stair, he says, "Oh my god! I remember this! It's a squeaky stair! You know what we used to call this? The Squeaky Stair!" Then the next day he's walking down the stairs and he feels like riding down the banister and he breaks the banister.
Well that's it. I'm tired :) Merry Christmas and go stuff your faces with pudding and stuff!!!
Friday, December 25, 2009
Surviving Christmas
Posted by N.I.V.A.N.I at 12/25/2009 01:21:00 PM
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

0 comments:
Post a Comment